We are not Promised a Moment More

I just finished a book by Kara Tippetts called “And it Was Beautiful”. It is a precious collection of blog entries from a young woman, wife, and mother of 4 small children, who is battling cancer, and ultimately passes away. Her perspective is quite inspiring and unique, and she gently reminds my heart that we are not promised tomorrow, and in fact, we are not promised a moment more.

My heart is heavy and a knot of conviction rests on my chest as I type these words. It stems from the fact that we are given such a short amount of time in which to impact this world, and in which to love on each other. I feel like I can’t get life right enough to make much of a difference on a daily basis . I am constantly fighting my human nature, and it seems as though my lovely intentions only get to come to fruition occasionally.

I do long to be closer to God. I yearn to love Him more, know Him more, and trust Him more, but my messy, sinful self gets in the way far to often.  I want to be mindful of my Father in Heaven in every moment. I want to serve Him every chance I get. I don’t want to blow through my days not thinking of Him…as if I don’t desperately need Him. I want to stay close to Him in my thoughts, and in my walk. I desire that my actions, my words, my life, reflect that I am His. That I am a daughter of whom He has shown great mercy, and now, because He has loved me so, I am forever changed, and living the life that He has called me to live, for Him, and for His glory.

We are only given a limited amount of time on earth in which to love our people well, and to serve and please the Lord. if I were to live to be 100 years old, that would still only give me 36,500 days in which to do so. But the truth is I could have substantially fewer days than that. I don’t know how long I have, none of us do.

The Psalmist was wise to say, “teach me to number my days”. That would be a good prayer to pray every morning that I am blessed to still be here. If I live as though my days are few, wouldn’t I love better, wouldn’t I strive to remain close to the Lord, and to please Him and to serve Him in every moment. Wouldn’t I be more mindful to express kindness in my words and in my tone, in every encounter. Wouldn’t there be an urgency to my walk with the Lord and in my purpose for Him.

Lord, help me to remember that my life is only like the tender pedals of a flower, that may be in bloom today, but may wilt and fall away tomorrow.  Remind me to live intentionally in this moment, because I am not promised the next.

~Written by Tonya Partain

~Photographer unknown

Leave a Reply

