Why is it so hard for me to be healthy in mind, body, and spirit? I feel like I am constantly on an out of control roller coaster or a swinging pendulum; or an out of control roller coaster on a swinging pendulum. I’ll have days of spiritual highs, maybe even weeks, and then life hits me hard and I build up walls and I move away from God. Or I’ll focus on my finances and getting out of debt, but something comes along and takes the money and it just feels impossible. Just about monthly I want to try to have a healthier lifestyle, but it never lasts. I only gain more weight.

Teenagers, health issues, strained finances, scars…

My life feels heavy all of the time. I day dream about peace. Sometimes I imagine a long painters studio with natural light pouring through it’s big windows, my bare feet on it’s old solid wood floors, watercolor all around, and me with a warm mug of black coffee pressed between my cupped hands, and my love… and we are light and airy and life feels like a movie or a song lyric. But hard steals that away and it feels like something that will never happen.

Why can’t I look at the stars. I love the sky. Why can’t I go to the ocean. We don’t have the money or the time. It’s all work and stress and hardly any play. I feel guilty for wanting more.

I know it’s a choice but some days it doesn’t feel like a choice, it feels more like a prison.

I want to run. I want to love running. I want to be able to run. I want cool mornings and ear buds in my ears, playing feel good music, as I enjoy the breeze on the cool damp beads of sweat on my brow.

I want to be more financially stable. This paycheck to paycheck…or in my case, overdraft to overdraft, is for the birds. In fact I wouldn’t wish it on the poor birds. I don’t have to be rich, but I would love to be more stable. Not as much robbing Peter to pay Paul type stuff. But I guess I don’t do enough. Sometimes I think I stay busy with nothing so I don’t have to do anything, like clean my house or go to school to make more money. But I’m tired. I do work, a full time job, and a part time job, but I need to do more…or is that the problem.

I try so hard to be a good mom, but apparently I suck. According to the popular consensus, I’m to soft , I let them get away with to much disrespect, etc. I want my children to know love and grace and compassion, but maybe I’m not teaching them enough hard. I’m not a doormat as onlookers might think, I am soft on purpose. I want to be a soft place to fall.

My poor husband, I am not a good wife. I’m tired and crabby and he gets the bulk of that, and he tries to be nice to me anyway. His touch is to heavy for me when I’m tired and it makes me uncomfortable.

Life keeps going around and around, and though I am beyond blessed, more than I could ever deserve, I struggle everywhere and I am tired. I’m so tired. Of holding down the fort. Carrying the load. Balancing the budget. It’s exhausting.

I don’t have anything together. I really don’t. All areas of my life feel hard and heavy. I know it could always be worse, but my hard is heavy to me. I’m getting older and I don’t want life to be over before I let myself feel magic again.

I do realize that magical moments are not impossible. In fact for me they can usually be found in simplicity, I just have to remember to look for it. Not only recognizing it, but capture it, live it. Allow myself time to simmer in the magical moments that present themselves in my life. Even more…what if I intentionally made time to create magic in my life…

My Road Map to Magical Moments would look something like this:

Big Mug of Black Coffee or Warm Tea

Good Music

Poetry, quotes, or scripture that make me feel something

Painting/Art work

Meditation/Prayer

Laughter

Slow dancing

The Stars

The beach

B&B’s

Flirting with my love

Cooking with my daughters

Heart to Hearts with my son

Snuggles with my grand-baby

Long talks/Fellowship

A good cry

Pj’s and pillows with my favorite girlfriends

Downtown Square/Thrift stores

Road Trips to a new place or familiar places

Sitting by the Fire/Smores

Spring/Fall Mornings

Births of babies

Drinking sweet wine from fancy glasses

Hot fizzy Jacuzzi

Ice tea on a porch swing

Gardening

Black and White Movies

Blessing Others

Encouragement

A clean house

Christmas Everything

Writing

Making Passionate Love

Sunsets/Sunrises

Back roads with the windows down

Bubble baths

New Revelation

Classic Disney movies

Nature

Friday night lights–the first time the bleachers are cold

Reminiscing

Chick flicks

Touching moments/words/lyrics

Massive, dancing flock of birds in the sky

Tears of joy

Unexpected blessings

Giving flowers to the living

The Glory of God streaking through the sky

Fresh flowers

Love stories

Weekend getaways

Natural light pouring through a room

Old shacks on a country road

Cypress trees

Ornate street lamp posts

Lonely benches

Vintage Objects like Old Cameras, Umbrellas, Tea Kettles, or Typewriters

Black and White Photography

Warm wind blowing my hair

Praise and Worship

I really could go on and on. You know, my hard probably wouldn’t feel so heavy, if I made time for a little magic.

~Written by Tonya Partain

~Photographer/Artist unknown

 

 

One thought on “My Road Map to Magical Moments

Leave a Reply

